SMMT names Gareth Jones as new president

SMMT has announced that Gareth Jones, managing director of ebm-papst Automotive and Drives UK will be president in 2015 effective 1 January. Gareth Jones has more than 26 years’ experience within the ebm-papst group, operating in the manufacturing supply chains of many global industries including automotive, telecommunications, rail, consumer electronics, white goods and retail. He is an engineer with a wide range of experience across many business environments.

Jones commented: “I’m enormously honoured to succeed Tim Abbott as president of SMMT and I would like to congratulate him on such a successful tenure. I’m very proud to accept this role and look forward to working with the entire SMMT team and my industry colleagues to promote the best interests of the automotive industry.”

Tim Abbott has completed his second year as SMMT president and now becomes deputy president. He has recently taken up a post with BMW in South Africa, following his most recent role as managing director, BMW Group UK.

Three new vice presidents have been appointed to support Gareth Jones: Penny Randall, marketing director, Renault Trucks UK; Tony Walker, deputy managing director, Toyota Motor Manufacturing (UK); and James Wright, managing director, Nissan Motor (GB). They join previous vice presidents: Mark Ovenden, chairman and managing director, Ford of Britain; John Neill CBE, chairman and group chief executive, Unipart Group and Ralf Speth, CEO, Jaguar Land Rover.

Comments closed

We see you are visiting us from China.

If you would like the latest news from the Chinese tyre industry in Chinese, visit our partner site Or click below to continue on Tyrepress.