Pirelli agrees 2017 tyre test calendar with F1 teams, FIA

Friday 21st April 2017 | 0 Comments

Pirelli has defined the development programme for its 2018 slick and wet weather Formula One tyres in agreement with F1’s teams and the FIA. Starting with the recently completed Bahrain test, the programme will conclude with testing on 14-15 November at Interlagos, Brazil.

The sporting regulations state that the tests will take place over a total of 25 days of running (with one day of running equating to the use of one car). Unlike last year, all the teams will take part. As a result, Pirelli’s 2018 tyres will be tested using current cars, without the need for mule cars like last year.

The way that the tests will be carried out remains identical to last year, so these will still be ‘blind’ tests, without the teams and drivers knowing exactly which type of tyres they are trying out.

Eight circuits will host the development programme. As well as Bahrain, where Ferrari will devote one car to tyre testing on Tuesday, tests will also take place in Barcelona, Silverstone, Magny-Cours, Budapest (again during the in-season test immediately following the grand prix), Mexico and Interlagos. There will also be a wet test at Paul Ricard, using the circuit’s facilities that allow the surface to be artificially dampened.

Tags: , , ,

Category: Motorsport