Eight manufacturers to contest Formula E in second season

The Federation Internationale de l’Automobile has today revealed the eight manufacturers who will enter the all-electric FIA Formula E Championship in season two – further increasing the series’ credentials as a test bed for the development of electric vehicle technology. For the inaugural 2014/2015 season, the 10 Formula E teams all compete using identical single-seaters – the Spark-Renault SRT_01E – utilising a powertrain by McLaren Electronic Systems. From the 2015/2016 season, the series will become an open championship allowing manufacturers to pursue their own in-house innovations, beginning with the development of bespoke powertrains. Michelin is currently the tyre supplier to the series, alongside global supply partner Protyre Motorsport, as well as a founding partner. Having started in Beijing last year, the first season ends in Central London, with a circuit expected to be formed within Battersea Park to host the final two rounds.

The rest of this article is for subscribers only:
Log inSubscribe

Comments closed